Where are my tears? (A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas SPOILER FREE Review)

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5

Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Format: Indigo Exclusive Edition Hardcover

This review will not contain any of the books in this trilogy. I prefer keeping all of my reviews spoiler free so that anyone can read them. If you haven’t already, click here to read my spoiler free reviews for the first two books in this series.

Where did my tears go? Oh, right, they were all used up on my most anticipated read of 2017. Wow, I don’t even know where to start with my review for this book. It was everything and more than I expected from a Sarah J. Maas finale. I was anxious going into this book because we’ve never gotten a SJM finale before, but this book blew my high expectations out of the water. There’s nothing that I didn’t like about this book. I’ve also officially given all of Sarah J. Maas’ books a 5/5 stars, YAYAYAY.

Also, I thought I’d mention that this book made me ugly cry. Like full on sobbing and hyperventilating. I don’t think I’ve ever cried that much/long/hard over a work of fiction. This ugly crying happened way more than once while reading this book, I was a mess.

This book involved quite a bit more politics than the other two which I really enjoyed because politics (both in the real and fictional world) is fascinating to me.

All of the new characters we were introduced to/seen (whether or not they were mentioned in other books) was amazing. I find that Sarah J. Maas is very talented at effectively intertwining characters and world building. The characters we already knew from the past books developed so much and my opinion on so many characters changed drastically. It was amazing following characters from A Court of Thorns and Roses all the way to and throughout this book. The character development Sarah J. Maas is capable of writing throughout her books always boggles my mind.

Speaking of world building, OH MY GOSH. SJM perfectly developed this world even more throughout the book. She is very talented at creating a world and characters where you can take all of the description(s) and form a vivid image in your mind, allowing you to sort of create a movie in your mind as you read. Sarah J. Maas is so talented in every aspect, I can’t even fathom how she manages (if you can’t already tell, I admire Sarah J. Maas so much). I was very very very very impressed by this book.

As I say in all of my reviews, I am so grateful for Sarah J. Maas’ books. Before reading them, I’d been falling in and out of reading slumps and wondering why I wasn’t enjoying anything that I read. I felt my love of reading slipping away. Sarah J. Maas’ books sparked something inside of me. I completely fell in love with the world, characters, writing, and just everything about her books. I attribute my restored love of reading and hope in reading to Sarah J. Maas. Her books will forever remain my favourite and hold a special place in my heart.

Sarah J. Maas also helped me with rating books. I never knew how to rate books. I always gave out 5/5 stars to any book I even remotely enjoyed. SJM’s books have set a standard for 5 star books. reading her books have given me a true understanding of what a 5 star book is to me and how I should feel about a book and its components to rate it 5 stars. I hope one day Sarah will know how much her books mean to me.

I truly encourage everyone, fantasy-lovers or not, to at least give Sarah J. Maas’ books a chance; none of her books have let me down. I’ve been wanting to reread A Court of Wings and Ruin since since I read the last page. I can’t believe this story is over, I need to know what and who the next books are about.

If you want to discuss spoilers for Sarah J. Maas’ books, feel free to contact me on any of my social media accounts which are always linked at the end of my blog posts. As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve!

Social Media Links:

4 thoughts on “Where are my tears? (A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas SPOILER FREE Review)

  1. delphinespublications says:

    OOh – great… yet another book to add to my ever-increasing TBR pile.
    This sounds so enchanting. A Court of Thorns and Roses series has been under my radar for quite some time, as I have noticed all the attention that its been receiving both here and on Goodreads, but starting series always intimidates me as I automatically feel a commitment to continue through each sequel, no matter if I like the first or not.
    I plan on starting the Shades of Magic series this month so hopefully I’ll be up to speed and able to begin A Court of Thorns and Roses by August πŸ™‚
    I look forward to reading more from you soon, happy reading πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Taylor from PlentifulPages says:

      When you end up reading ACOTAR, I hope you enjoy it! If you don’t though, I highly suggest continuing anyways since so many people ADORE the second book even more (regardless of if they liked the first book or not). I hope you enjoy everything that you read! Also, I’m glad you look forward to my posts, it means a lot to me, thank you for your support!😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

