UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Spoiler Free Book Review)

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Rating: 2/5

Publication Date: June 7th, 2011

Publisher: Quirk

Format: Hardcover

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs. A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Review:

From the synopsis this sounds really interesting, right? WRONG. Well, in my opinion. I didn’t enjoy this book very much. So many people have been reading this and raving about it over the years that I was really hoping to be able to rave about it with them. I also had seen the movie when it cam out and I adored it, so I was expecting to love the book too.

Let me start with what I did enjoy because yay for positivity. I really thought that the photos were a great addition to the story. They went along with the text and I found it so cool to be given a visual about what the characters were talking about. The photos gave more depth to the story which was much appreciated.

I thought that this book was going to be scary. It was a bit creepy and gross at times but not as I had expected. If you’re going into this book expecting to get scared, you might be  a bit let down. I was actually grateful for this fact since I’m not a huge fan of scary stuff.

Now… onto what I didn’t enjoy. Don’t get me wrong, I love the concept of this book (which I initially gathered from the synopsis, reviews, and the movie) and it’s intriguing. I just felt that the way the concept was carried out was done poorly. I thought the plot dragged out and things were repetitive, I was bored throughout (pretty much) the whole book.

I liked the first 40 or so pages which displayed out main character, Jacob, and his grandpa’s (Abe) relationship. Their connection was just so great to read about and Abe’s stories had me interested in reading more. Then the rest of the book came along and I felt myself trudging through it.Nothing super interesting happened until the last 40 pages where the plot picked up a bit in order to lead into the next book.

I am a very character-driven reader. If the characters in a book are good, I can usually look past a boring plot. As you might have already guessed from that fact, I disliked the characters in this book. Jacob is a spoiled, ungrateful, and whiny kid (oops, I mean teenager). I felt like he was very immature and the only time I liked him was when he was with his grandfather. That was only because his grandpa could “counteract” how annoying Jacob was.

I feel neutral on Miss Peregrine an the peculiar children. Many of then lacked depth and weren’t as interesting as I’d hoped. I’m looking forward to reading the next book to see if that changes. I also didn’t like the romance (if it can even be called that) in this book. I felt it to be really forced and awkward.

From what I got from reading this first book, I feel like this trilogy could have been condensed into a dulology. I’m hoping that the somewhat intriguing ending of this book leads to a more action-packed and interesting rest of  the trilogy.

I’ve seen so many positive reviews for this book, so I’d still recommend that you give it a try for yourself!

Have you read this book? Do the books get better as the trilogy goes on? Let me know in a comment!

As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve

Social Media Links:

 

6 thoughts on “UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Spoiler Free Book Review)

Leave a Reply

