Why haven’t more people read this? (No Safety In Numbers by Dayna Lorentz Spoiler-Free Book Review)

Title: No Safety In Numbers

Author: Dayna Lorentz

Rating: 5/5 stars

Publication Date: April 4th, 2013

Publisher: Speak

Format: Paperback

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When a strange device is discovered in the air ducts of a busy suburban mall, the entire complex is suddenly locked down. No one can leave. No one knows what is going on.
At first, there’s the novelty of being stuck in a mega mall with free food and a gift certificate. But with each passing day, it becomes harder to ignore the dwindling supplies, inadequate information, and mounting panic. Then people start getting sick.
Told from the point of view of two guys and two girls, this is a harrowing look at what can happen under the most desperate of circumstances, when regular people are faced with impossible choices. Some rise to the occasion. Some don’t. And for some – it’s too late.

My Review:

No Safety In Numbers by Dayna Lorentz is a thrilling story that follows four teens day by day through the aftermath of a biological bomb that was discovered in the air ducts of a super mall.

I really enjoyed this book! It was super fast-paced and full of plot-twists! It was so addicting too since the chapters aren’t too long and they always leave you wanting to know more. I really recommend this if you want something quick to read since it’s so easy to get through.

We follow four perspectives in this book; Marco, Lexi, Ryan, and Shaila (Shay). We have quite a diverse cast of characters in terms of race. I really enjoyed this aspect of the book.

The first character we are introduced to is Marco. For some reason, I didn’t enjoy his perspective at the beginning. I just felt bad for him because he never stood up for himself. I was super happy though because as the book went on, he became a bit more confident!

We are next introduced to Lexi. She is definitely my favourite character. Quirky, and so caring! I really enjoyed having her family be a part of this too. It was also nice to see her coming out of her shell a bit and making new friends.

Next we’re introduced to Ryan. I don’t really like Ryan or his friends at all since they’re your stereotypical high school football guys but I liked seeing their brotherly friendship.

Finally we’re introduced to Shay. She’s definitely my second favourite character. She totally owns herself and seeing her confidence grow throughout this book was awesome! She also enjoys poetry and went to the bookstore a few times which was cool since that’s where I would spend most of my time if I was quarantined in a mall.

My favourite part of the book was interactions between main characters and the rest of the mall. Seeing four different first hand accounts of what was going on in the mall after a quarantine was just so interesting! It was quite intriguing seeing how the whole concept played out.

Overall, this book was thrilling, intriguing, unique, and easy to read. I feel like this book is really underrated and I am so glad that my dad picked this book and the second one up at the store one day since I would have never have known about these otherwise.

As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve.

Social Media Links:

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why haven’t more people read this? (No Safety In Numbers by Dayna Lorentz Spoiler-Free Book Review)

Leave a Reply

