Good but not great?? (Flawed by Cecelia Ahern Spoiler-Free Book Review)

Title: Flawed

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Rating: 3/5

Publication Date: April 5th, 2016

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Format: Hardcover

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You will be punished… Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan. But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed. In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

My Review:

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern follows our main character Celestine North as she tries to figure out where she fits in in a society that only values perfection. Does she do the right thing?  What lengths will people go to stay perfect?

Let’s start off with what I didn’t like. This book was excruciatingly slow. It took over 100 pages for me to become interested in the story. Despite it being slow, it did hold my interest, otherwise I probably would have taken way longer to finish the book. I didn’t like how the society wasn’t really explained much. I wish that we would have gotten more info on how and why the society is how it is. What made this book boring was the unnecessary descriptions and scenes. I feel like there could have been some thing excluded from the story. This book was also super predictable.

This society is one where a minor “mistake” gets you in trouble. You do not typically go to jail, rather you go to the “Guild Court” where they rule on whether or not and where you will be branded (seared with a hit iron letter F, it’s as bad as it sounds) Flawed. This isolates you from society. You shop in a different section of the store, you have to have your brand(s) visible in public, and you must wear a read armband with the letter F on it. To give you an idea of just how hideous this society is: there was an elderly man coughing and quickly becoming short of breath (obviously needing medical attention) but just because he was “Flawed” NOBODY HELPED. I guess the reason I didn’t give this book is more of a “it’s me not you” type thing since I just despised this society.

Celestine was our main character. It was mentioned that she’s biracial, which is awesome! I just felt kind of neutral about her character. I didn’t like how insta-lovey her and her boyfriend’s relationship was. Near the end half of the book, I really appreciated her change of character. Strong-willed, and wanting to fight for what she herself thinks is right.

Onto the topic of Celestine’s boyfriend. To keep it short: I hated him.

Even though we didn’t learn too much about him, I really liked Carrick. He’s a really  intriguing character and I hope to learn more about him in the next book.

I really loved how Celestine’s family played a big part in this book. It was nice and realistic.

Despite the predictability in some parts of the book, the ending came as a surprise to me!

As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve!

Social Media Links:

Leave a Reply

