I still don’t get it?! (Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo Spoiler-Free Book Review)

Click here to read my review on the first book in this trilogy, Shadow and Bone. Click here to read my review on the second book in this trilogy, Siege and Storm.

Hello book lovers and welcome back to another blog post!

Title: Ruin and Rising

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Rating: 5/5

Release Date: August 18th, 2015

Publisher: Square Fish

Format: Paperback

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Since this is the last book in a trilogy, the synopsis is a bit spoilery. You can click here to read the synopsis from Goodreads. Read at your own risk.

My Review:

I just want to start off this review by saying that this, like all of my other reviews will be spoiler free. I want everyone to be able to read and enjoy these reviews. As always, if you would like to discuss spoilers, feel free to send me a DM on any of my social media accounts which are always linked at the end of my blog posts.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo is the third and final book in the high fantasy Grisha trilogy. In this book, we continue to follow Alina’s journey to fight evil.

The first 100 or so pages of this book were about as fun as watching paint dry. I really struggled to get through them. I think it was mostly because Nikolai wasn’t there because right when he came back into the story, things picked up. It was also because I just really hate the Apparat, he’s so annoying.

Alina really grew throughout this book, as she did in the previous books. She became more independent and confident, I was so proud of her. She was a bit annoying at times but I feel like this just added to how realistic her character is. That is something I really admire about Alina in this trilogy. I was not too fond of Mal in Siege and Storm, but this book really rekindled my love for him. I was really grateful for Mal in this book because he was one of the only ones being logical. The epilogue of this book also made me really happy, although I do wish we got to see more of what happened after the ending in more detail.

Now, the Darkling. I DON’T UNDERSTAND. Why are people so obsessed with him? I was told that my love for him would grow as the trilogy went on, WRONG.As the books went on, I just hated him even more. Even after the bonus short story about him in my copy of Ruin and Rising, I didn’t even remotely feel for him. He did so many evil and disgusting things (especially in this book) that I just can’t bring myself to like him.

Now, Nikolai. Nikolai is so dear to my heart. He’s honestly one of the major reasons why I love this trilogy so much. He’s the main reason I laughed (and cried…a lot) during this book.He’s also one of the first characters that has ever made me literally laugh out loud while reading.

A really interesting part of this book for me was learning more about the backstory of Alina/Mal/the Darkling. Making connections to other things in the first tow books and this one while learning more about said characters was so cool! The plot twists in some parts of this book left me so shocked! the side characters, their relationships, etc. made me so happy! There was also a LGBT aspect of this book which was unexpected but pretty cool! The fact that there was a cat in the book that was like a part of Alina’s squad made my heart melt.

This book was definitely more of a roller coaster than the previous  two. I laughed and definitely cried a lot more. The ending was also absolutely amazing. Not necessarily a completely happy ending, but happy enough for a high fantasy, haha. A lot of people seem to not like the ending, but I did!

Final thing, I really love Leigh Bardugo’s writing. It’s so detailed while also being quite easy to read and comprehend. I’m really looking forward to reading her Six of Crows duology!

I’d highly recommend this trilogy to everyone! If you’re looking to get more into high fantasy, this trilogy would be a fantastic place to start!

As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve!

Social Media Links:

 

Leave a Reply

