Why do people love the Darkling?! (Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo Spoiler Free Review)

Title: Siege and Storm

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Rating: 4/5

Release Date: June 17th, 2014

Publisher: Square Fish

Format Read: Paperback

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Since this book is the second in a trilogy, the synopsis has some mild spoilers, read at your own risk. Click here if you’re interested in reading the synopsis.

My Review:

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo is the second book in the high fantasy Grisha trilogy. Full of twists, new characters, and returning old characters, this sequel follows Alina and Mal throughout their journey, forging a different life.

Let’s start off with what I didn’t like. I felt like this book dragged at times. There were parts that really weren’t necessary in my opinion. Sometimes absolutely nothing happened and I found myself really bored.

Okay, onto characters. I was really proud of Alina in this book. She grew so much, becoming more reliant on herself, and she really held her ground with the boys. I feel like the gender equality was awesome in this book, I felt that the boys admired Alina as much as (if not more than) she admired them. She was hilarious (her and another character that I will mention later were so funny). Despite her immense growth she thankfully still had her flaws and stayed relatable.

So, Mal. I don’t even know where to start with him. I mean, he did have his cinnamon roll, traditional sweet boy Mal moments, which is why I have hope for and still love him. On the other hand, he was so rude? He was really selfish at times and wasn’t there for Alina when she needed him. He did have some redeeming moments though, I’m interested in seeing what happens in the next book.

I’m going to talk about Sturmhond and Nikolai at the same time since I feel the same way about both of them. THEY ARE SO FUNNY. This book actually had me laughing out loud, which I don’t think has ever happened before. They’re so witty, and I adored their banter with Alina, so many quotes and scenes that I took note of!

Tolya and Tamar were two new characters that I actually really enjoyed. They were pretty mysterious but they really cared about Alina so yay! I hope we get to learn more about them in the next book.

Okay, so, the Darkling…I still really hate him, even more than I did in Shadow and Bone. I see no redeeming qualities in him. He’s manipulative and a creepy jerk in my opinion. I don’t understand why people like him so much? Oh, speaking of characters I hate, don’t even get me started with Prince Vasily, he’s an idiot and tries way too hard.

What I really liked about this book, that was different from the first, all the action/battle scenes were EPIC 9regardless of how short they were).There was a lot of political stuff too, which I enjoyed.

ALSO LET’S TAKE A MOMENT FOR THOSE LAST 50 PAGES. I did NOT see that coming and I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It was a little sad though. I cannot wait for the next book!

As always, I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I’m always looking to improve!

💗Social Media Links💗

2 thoughts on “Why do people love the Darkling?! (Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo Spoiler Free Review)

Leave a Reply

