Books on my Goodreads “read” shelf, but I haven’t read them?! (Plentiful Discussions)

 

I’m starting a new post series here on my blog! It’s going to be called Plentiful Discussions. If you can’t tell from the series title, I’m just going to be discussing certain topics and you can continue the discussion in the comments! I’ve been wanting to do something like this for a while, I hop0e you enjoy these posts!

So, today’s post is going to revolve around why I don’t consider most of the books on my Goodreads read shelf to be “read.”

*Flashback to 2014/2015 me to give you a backstory.* Here I am, just beginning to discover the online book community, using my personal Instagram to follow Bookstagram accounts, and creating a Goodreads account (my first bookish social media account). I created a Goodreads goal of around 70 books, spent all my money on books I knew nothing about, and speed-reading everything. I retained no imformation, got nothing out of the characters or story. To be honest, I didn’t care about any of that, all I saw was the challenge number. I NEED to reach and surpass that goal, I NEED to read as much as others in the bookish community.

*Okay, back to 2016/Present me.* Looking back on the books I read in those years, its like I never even read them. I don’t remember anything from them, I couldn’t tell you anything about them even if I tried. That’s why I don’t consider myself to have read them, and why I say that I haven’t. In a way, it’s good that this happened because it basically means that I have lots of “new” books to read, which is pretty exciting. I still regret rushing through those books and I can’t wait to read them all again so I can give them the attention that they deserve. Starting in 2016, I now take all the time I need/want with a book and I’ve developed a hatred for speed-reading and not paying attention to every word (unless it’s for school textbook reading of course). I could just move all of said books to my Goodreads to-read shelf, but I feel like that would really overwhelm me. Maybe I’l do it one day though.

Also, if you’re wondering why I still set Goodreads challenges: it’s there just so I can easily access the books I read in a year, whether it’s for a blog post, or just in general. I don’t pay attention to the number at all, it’s irrelevant to me. I do check the number on the last day of the year if I’m curious how much I read in the year.

What are your opinions on what I talked about in this post? Has something like this happened to you? Do you have any questions about what I said? Should I add said books to my to-read shelf instead of keeping them on my read shelf? Let me know in a comment!

đź’—Social Media Linksđź’—

2 thoughts on “Books on my Goodreads “read” shelf, but I haven’t read them?! (Plentiful Discussions)

  1. aloofbooks says:

    I think I get what you mean—I don’t remember most of the books I read 2/3 years ago either, but because it’s been so long and I’m afraid my opinions on them have changed. This was so interesting to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    • plentifulpages says:

      Yeah, I’m just going into all these books now with a fresh mind, removing them from my Goodreads shelf and re-adding them before I read them so I can’t see my past thoughts. I’m really treating them like I haven’t read them before (because from this post, you can tell I don’t consider them read haha). I’m glad it was interesting for you to read!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

