That was a close one! (Delicate by Steph Campbell Spoiler Free Review)

Title: Delicate

Author: Steph Campbell

Rating: 4/5

Release Date: July 16th, 2012

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Pages: 236

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sydney Pierce has just met the guy of her dreams…just don’t tell her psycho boyfriend, Trevor.With a gorgeous boyfriend, a thriving gymnastics career and a stellar academic record, anyone would assume that Sydney has it all. That’s precisely what the seventeen-year-old perfectionist wants you to believe, and she works hard to keep up the pretense. Especially now that there are cameras following her for a documentary on Olympic hopefuls. When Grant, the charming new student, disrupts her carefully crafted routine, the cracks beneath her perfect façade begin to rise to the surface and despite Trevor’s objections to their friendship, she can’t stay away from him.
As her connection to Grant pulls her closer to him, the once lighthearted relationship with Trevor takes an intense and dark turn, forcing her into a position in which not only her happiness, but her safety is at stake. Can Sydney learn to let go of everything she is clinging to in order to gain everything she has ever wanted, or will she realize her breaking point too late?

My Review:

Delicate by Steph Campbell is a contemporary novel following a very talented gymnast names Sydney who is faced with sorting out her relationships and taking control of her own life.

I picked this book up right after I finished Empire of Storms. I needed to read something easy and quick to prevent a reading slump. I was not let down, this book completely kept me out of a slump and I am so grateful for that!

One of our main characters was Trevor, Sydney’s boyfriend. I despise Trevor. He was manipulative, and just all-around abusive. I don’t know too much about abusive relationships, so I had assumed that this relationship was being romanticized which made me a little angry. After reading the author’s note and piecing together things about Syd and Trevor’s relationship while reading the book,  clued in. Sydney said she loved him and stayed in the relationship because she couldn’t leave. Trevor emotionally abused her, putting the blame on her for him abusing her so that she felt bad and stayed with him. This book made me so sad because I felt so bad for Sydney, I just wanted to give her a big hug and make sure that Trevor kept away from her. I wish I could’ve been her friend in this book because her so-called “best friends” didn’t really care enough to realize something was going on and if they did notice, they didn’t do anything to help her ugh.

Sydney was a character that you really just want to hug. She is such a talented gymnast, a bright student, and so kind. Trevor really stifled all of that and I hate him so much for preventing Sydney from living up to her full potential.

Grant was out other main character who was introduced a bit later on the story. I really love Grant, he was so caring and kind to Sydney, my little cinnamon roll Grant. He tried so hard to become Sydney’s friend but Trevor was way too territorial. Wow, it much suck to have so little trust in your girlfriend AND THEN BLAME HER FOR YOU HURTING HER. Ugh I just really hate Trevor. Grant never stopped trying to help Sydney and did all he could. He showed Syd that she deserves better.He really helped her and I’m so grateful for him!

Okay, I think I’m going to end my review there since if I go on any longer, I’ll just keep ranting about how much I hate Trevor. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I’d recommend it if you need a captivating and quick read to keep you out of a slump or want to learn more about the psychological aspect of an abusive relationship.

As always I’d love feedback on my blog, reviews, etc.! I’m always looking to improve!

💗Social Media Links💗

4 thoughts on “That was a close one! (Delicate by Steph Campbell Spoiler Free Review)

  1. Creatyvebooks says:

    I have not heard of this book. I will have to check it out. Seems like a book I would enjoy. Not too many sports book out there about gymnastics. Also Trevor sounds like an ass and I’m hating him already and I haven’t read the book yet. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

