Twists & Turns & Feels, Oh My! (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas Spoiler Free Review)

Hello book lovers! I’m here to share with you my spoiler free thoughts on the amazing Queen of Shadows novel!!

Click here for all of my reviews for the rest of Sarah J. Maas’ books!

Title- Queen of Shadows

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5 glorious stars

Release Date: September 1st, 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Pages: 645

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The synopsis for this novel is a bit spoilery if you haven’t read Crown of Midnight, so I am not going to put it directly in here, you’ve been warned. For the Goodreads synopsis of Queen of Shadows click here.

My review (where I mostly fangirl over the beautiful characters of this book):


So this is the fourth book in Maas’ VERY EPIC high fantasy Throne of Glass series. This is definitely my favourite book in this series so far, and is right behind A Court of Mist and Fury for my favourite book.

First off, this book is full of twists, turns, happy/sad moments, and basically Sarah J. Maas is the master of emotionally destroying me (but she is the QUEEN of writing absolutely amazing books, with great plots, characters, just everything about her books is perfect). There was never a dull moment in this book, I always kept wondering “WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, I NEED TO KNOW.” This was definitely a nerve-wracking book, it was so unpredictable, which I love but my feels do not. The plot-twists in this book messed with my brain and left me with my mouth hanging open (make sure you aren’t outside while reading this book because BUGS+Sarah J. Maas plot twist is a recipe for disaster). ALSO, Celaena’s squad is almost at goals as Rhys’ inner circle (both squads are PERFECT).

Like with Heir of Fire, we got chapters from the witches’ perspective. I adore these chapters because Manon and her Thirteen are my favourite! All of them grew so much throughout this book and I really enjoyed reading more about them and their backstories!

Nesryn Faliq is a new character that I started the book not very fond of, but she really grew on me and by the end of the book, I was Team Nesryn!

Now, Lysandra.She is AMAZING. She’s so funny, sneaky and I am so glad that her and Celaena are on better terms. I really disliked Lysandra after reading The Assassin’s Blade but this book explained so much and, like with Nesryn, by the end of this book I was so rooting for Lysandra. Celaena and Lysandra are really alike in the fact that they are BADASS.

The main boys in this book stole my heart. Chaol and Dorian are my original favs and will always hold such a special place in my heart, I care so much for them. Rowan and Aedion, my fae children, I LOVE THEM!! (Ignore the fact that Rowan is hundreds of years old and I called him my child, it’s all okay). I love these four characters with all of my heart (well, if you want to get technical, it’s half my heart since there’s still Rhysand, Azriel, and Cassian from A Court of Mist and Fury).

Celaena grew so much throughout this book and I’m so proud of her. It has been so astounding to be able to see her mature so much as the series progresses. She fights so hard for  what she believes in and who she loves. I admire her courage and strength, I have big hopes for her in the next books.

To summarize my thoughts: I adore this book, I’m terrified but insanely excited for Empire of Storms (by the time you are reading this, I will have already started empire of Storms and if I have finished it, expect a review some time in January or February) and if anything happens to my precious characters I’m probably going to freak. I am an emotional wreck after this book and I cannot wait to see how these relationships play out. Looking forward to Empire of Storms to ruin me more! *cries*

If you want to discuss spoilery bits of this book, feel free to DM me on Twitter or Instagram, the links to those are at the end of every blog post!

Also, I would appreciate feedback on my blog, reviews, etc. I am always looking for ways to improve!

Happy reading and I hope that you have a lovely day!

💗Social Media💗

 

 

One thought on “Twists & Turns & Feels, Oh My! (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas Spoiler Free Review)

Leave a Reply

