What was that ending?! (We Were Liars by E. Lockhart spoiler free review)!

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Rating: 4/5⭐️

Release Date: May 13th, 2014

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Pages: 225

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Review:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is a Young Adult suspense novel that follows the American, Sinclair family. This rich family goes to their private island in New York every summer to spend time with each other. This family may seen perfect, to you and to them, but maybe some things are a lie?

We Were Liars is in Cadence’s perspective, who is the eldest grandchild in the Sinclair family. She calls her and her cousins “the liars.” The story being told from Cadence’s perspective is the reason that this is a suspense novel since she suffers from memory loss. Who knows when she is telling the truth and when she is not.

The only other Sinclair family members that I enjoyed were Cadence’s multiple cousins. They were all so cute and quirky. Gat was a character that was like family, but was also the love interest. I enjoyed Gat’s character because he was so unique, a great addition to the Sinclair family. I very much disliked the grandfather and aunts because they only cared about possessions and money, placing those things above each other.

The Sinclair family ran into many problems, mainly between each other. The aunts fought over anything they could find to fight over. Cadence ran into problems like memory loss after the accident. The whole Sinclair family is just problematic.

My favourite character is Gat. His insight on everything was so eye-opening. he always made his opinion known. He saw both sides of every situation. Like any character, he had his downfalls. He is judgmental, pushy, and indecisive. His balanced character made him a more enjoyable part of the story.

I could not relate to anyone in the story other than Gat. The only reason I relate to Gat is because he enjoys reading. It is always nice to have a reader in a novel.

Overall I enjoyed this book. It kept me on the edge of my seat, wondering the whole time what was real and what was not. My least favourite part of the book was parts of the middle and beginning. Sometimes I felt the story to be a bit boring, but those feelings did not last long before the story picked up again, so I did not let that affect my rating too much. My favourite part of the book was the ending. Such a horrible thing happened, the truth was revealed. I was so surprised, and my heart dropped. I was so shocked, I could not believe what happened. I wish I could change the ending to be a more happy one because I care about these characters so much. What is this ending I’m talking about? You will have to read the book to find out!

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a page-turner that keeps you guessing the whole time. If you enjoy endings that shock you to the bone, check out We Were Liars by E. Lockhart!

Happy reading and have a lovely day!🌻

3 thoughts on “What was that ending?! (We Were Liars by E. Lockhart spoiler free review)!

  1. Cammie says:

    Wh;8&#t217as Attractive site i’m pristine to this, I stumbled ahead this I have discovered It totally useful and it has helped me absent oodles. I am hoping to give a contribution & abet new users comparable its helped me. Enormous job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

