Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review! (Spoiler Free)

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5⭐️

Release Date: May 7th, 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Pages: 404

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien. The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

My Review!

Throne of Glass follows an assassin by the name of Celaena Sardothien who is brought to the castle to compete for her freedom. Along the way she befriends many. She must also discover and destroy the evil that is lurking.

One thing that I enjoyed is the way the multiple PoVs were handled. The majority of the book is in Celaena’s PoV, but sometimes another character’s PoV is added in to provide more information on what is happening or what other characters are thinking/feeling. It does not always clearly state a character’s name before the PoV changes, but it sets context in the first sentence so that you are never confused as to who is telling a certain part of the story.

This book is so unpredictable. I would be inferring what will happen, but the exact opposite would actually happen! There were so many twists, this book was definitely a page turner!

Sometimes I found the book to be slow, might I saw boring, which is the only reason my rating is not a full 5 stars. Things did not stay boring for very long though, because a handful of pages later something intriguing would happen and I would be succked into the story once again.

Our main character Celaena is such a badass. She is also a reader, which I enjoyed because I could relate. She is just the perfect character, witty, talented, and so much more! Her dog, Fleetfoot, is so adorable! I am so glad that there are pets woven in as part of the story. Her life is so interesting and I cannot wait to read The Assassin’s Blade to learn more about her past!

The prince of Adarlan, Dorian, was quite an interesting character. He enjoys reading, which is one reason I enjoyed his character because, I mean, a prince who likes to read? Talk about a great character! He is also not as arrogant as I expected, since he is a prince.

I think Chaol is my favourite male character. He seems very cold but I can tell that he is so sweet and caring underneath that coldness.

Nehemia is my absolute favourite character. She is so badass and mysterious, but also so kind, and just a lovely person to read about. I cannot wait to learn/read more about her.

The two main friendships in this are Dorian and Chaol, who have been friends for a long while, and Celaena and Nehemia, who just became friends in this book! These two friendships are so adorable and the dynamic that the characters have is flawless! Also, the fact that there is a strong male AND female friendship is amazing to me!

There is a slight romance aspect which is a love triangle, but I do not dislike it. For me it is too early to solidly state who I ship Celaena with, but I am leaning more towards Chaol.

Overall, this book was so enjoyable! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a fantasy book with detailed characters, badass female characters, and amazing friendships.

If you have read this book/series, or want to read this book/series, comment your thoughts! Make sure to keep them spoiler free!

Happy reading and have a lovely day!🌻

Social Media Links:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/plentifulpages/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/plentifulpages

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/37680906-taylor

2 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas Review! (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

