A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Book Review! (Spoiler Free)

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5⭐️

Release Date: May 5th, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Pages: 416

Summary From Goodreads:

“A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore. When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!”

Now time for my review!

The YA fantasy book, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas,  begins in the woods surrounding the main character, Feyre, and her family’s cottage. She is out hunting and ends up killing a “wolf.” Later on, a faerie names Tamlin comes to retrieve her from her cottage and bring her back to Prythian with him as punishment.

The story follows three main characters named Feyre, Tamlin, and Lucien. A fourth main character, Rhysand, is introduced a bit later on in the book. Feyre was a very believable character. Most of the things she did made sense, but when they didn’t at the time they eventually did. She developed from a lone huntress into a strong, risk-taking, kick-butt female lead. At the beginning, Tamlin was a  cold and unfriendly character. He was strong and brave from beginning to end. I loved how when Feyre came along she brought out the best in him. He was so sweet and caring, and to sum him up I can just say he’s the heart-eye emoji. Right when Lucien was introduced, I loved him. He was sarcastic and sweet. I loved the conversations between him and Feyre. When Rhysand was first inteoduced I didn’t really like him at all since he was really arrogant. I also found him to pretty rude and really cocky. He was also a bit creepy in my opinion. Later on when the motives beh his actions and attitude were revealed he didn’t bother me as much. My favourite side character would have to be Alis. She was just so sweet and harmless that I really enjoyed the parts of the book that she was in.

Tamlin and Feyre’s relationship was absolutely adorable. So was Tanlin and Lucien’s/Feyre and Lucien’s. Well, every relationship (romantic and friendship was)! All of the relationships were just so well written!

I personally couldn’t really relate to any of the characters, other than Lucien since I appreciate sarcasm. Despite that, I did feel really attached to all the characters and I care a lot about them.

The whole book was full of action. I really loved the fights/challenges, they were really cool to read about! The whole concept of the curse and Amarantha was really interesting. I can tell you that I was never bored while reading this book!

My favourite part s of the book were Feyre and Lucien’s banter! I wish there was more of that in the book! The ending was absolutely amazing and I would’ve never guessed that’s what was going  to happen! I was shocked while reading the late twenty pages or so!

I would 100% recommend this book to anyone, especially if you enjoy high fantasy, faeries, and romance! Sarah J. Maas’ writing style is one I really enjoy since it’s so beautiful and easy to read/understand!

A Court of Mist and Fury is already out and when I get enough money, I will be going right to the bookstore to buy it!

3 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Book Review! (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

