YA Contemporary Recommendations!

Since we’re nearing summer, which is the season that I read the most contemporary books, I decided to recommend you some of my favourite summer reads! I tried to include a couple that are a bit lesser known in the book community!

The first book(s) that I am going to be recommending to you is actually a duology! It is the “Spoiled” duology by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan!

001

  • Book 1: Spoiled
  • Book 2: Messy

Since this is a duology, I will only be talking about the first book, Spoiled!

Description of “Spoiled” from Goodreads:
You say Spoiled like it’s a bad thing.

Sixteen-year-old Molly Dix has just discovered that her biological father is Brick Berlin, world-famous movie star and red-carpet regular. Intrigued (and a little) terrified by her Hollywood lineage, Molly moves to Los Angeles and plunges headfirst into the deep of Beverly Hills celebrity life. Just as Molly thinks her life couldn’t get any stranger, she meets Brooke Berlin, her gorgeous, spoiled half sister, who welcomes Molly to la-la land with a smothering dose “sisterly love”…but in this town, nothing is ever what it seems.

Set against a world of Redbull-fuelled stylists, tiny tanned girls, popped-collar guys, and Blackberry-wielding publicists, Spoiled is a sparkling debut from the writers behind the viciously funny celebrity blog GoFugYourself.com.”

When I first read the description of this book, I didn’t think that I would like it. I thought it was going to be a cheesy, boring contemporary. I was completely wrong. Spoiled was fantastic! The main character, Molly was so relatable and I with her sister Brooke. The character development was really well done, I loved seeing how the sisters matured and bonded. Molly’s friends (“side characters”) Molly and Teddy were so adorable and quirky. They were a great addition to the story and I really enjoyed their presence throughout the novel! I think that if you’re looking for a captivating, quirky, and light contemporary read, pick up this duology!

The next book that I am going to be recommending you is “Proof of Forever” by Lexa Hillyer!

003

Description of “Proof of Forever” from Goodreads:

Before: It was the perfect summer of first kisses, skinny-dipping, and bonfires by the lake. Joy, Tali, Luce, and Zoe knew their final summer at Camp Okahatchee would come to an end, but they swore they’d stay friends.

After: Now, two years later, their bond has faded along with those memories.

Then: That is, until the fateful flash of a photo booth camera transports the four of them back in time, to the summer they were fifteen—the summer everything changed.

Now: The girls must recreate the past in order to return to the present. As they live through their second-chance summer, the mystery behind their lost friendship unravels, and a dark secret threatens to tear the girls apart all over again.

Always: Summers end. But this one will change them forever.”

I in the store based on its cover. After I read the summary, I was interested. The whole concept of this book was so interesting. I felt like it was a pretty unique book since I have never read anything like this before. The characters were funny, relatable, and they each had their own very unique personalities. The way each character grew throughout the story was realistic, which I really appreciated. This is more of an emotional read, and it deals with things like family issues. It is still a very enjoyable read because of the way that the author dealt with each event! I recommend this if you want a book with characters who really grow/mature throughout the book and learn many life lessons.

The final book that I am going to recommend to you is “Finding Audrey” by Sophie Kinsella!

IMG_7153[1]

Description of “Finding Audrey” from Goodreads:

“An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.”

This is a book that deals with mental illness. Usually books that deal with mental illness are heavy and pretty emotional.  This book dealt with mental illness so well and in a way that teaches you more about this specific mental illness without you even realizing it. The main character Audrey’s family was absolutely hilarious. Her relationship with Linus was so adorable, and the way that they helped each other overcome problems was amazing. Audrey grew so much as a person during the course of this book which was one of the main reasons why I loved this book so much. he telling of the story, so there were no boring parts. I was completely engrossed in this book the whole time that I was reading it. Overall, this was a quirky and cute story of a character trying to overcome a mental illness, and the obstacles that come with doing so.

Those are some of my favourite contemporary books! If you read/have already read any of these, let me know your thoughts!:)

2 thoughts on “YA Contemporary Recommendations!

Leave a Reply

