YA Dystopian Recommendations!

I read a lot of dystopian books. Not all of them are amazing, but I have read a couple that I have really loved! Today I am going to be showing you two of my favourite dystopian trilogies! Since these are trilogies, I am only going to be talking about the first book in each trilogy.

The first trilogy I am going to recommend is the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu!

020

  • Book 1: Legend
  • Book 2: Prodigy
  • Book 3: Champion

I know this is a pretty well-known series, and many people have read it, but if you haven’t, keep reading!

Description of Legend from Goodreads:

“What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.”

Doesn’t that description just intrigue you? I thought this book was a great start to the series, and let me tell you that the trilogy gets better and better throughout each book! I think that if you like books about a post-apocalyptic society, with a corrupted government, great world building, and loveable characters, this book is for you!

The second trilogy that I am going to recommend to you all is the Monument 14 trilogy by Emmy Laybourne!

019

  • Book 1: Monument 14
  • Book 2: Monument 14 Sky on Fire
  • Book 3: Monument 14 Savage Drift

I do not think that too many people have read this, and the series does not get too much hype. I think more people should read this trilogy, since it is amazing!

Description of Monument 14 from Goodreads:

“Your mother hollers that you’re going to miss the bus. She can see it coming down the street. You don’t stop and hug her and tell her you love her. You don’t thank her for being a good, kind, patient mother. Of course not-you launch yourself down the stairs and make a run for the corner.

Only, if it’s the last time you’ll ever see your mother, you sort of start to wish you’d stopped and did those things. Maybe even missed the bus.

But the bus was barreling down our street, so I ran.

Fourteen kids. One superstore. A million things that go wrong.

In Emmy Laybourne’s action-packed debut novel, six high school kids (some popular, some not), two eighth graders (one a tech genius), and six little kids trapped together in a chain superstore build a refuge for themselves inside. While outside, a series of escalating disasters, beginning with a monster hailstorm and ending with a chemical weapons spill, seems to be tearing the world-as they know it-apart.”

I had never read a book surrounding a group of characters with such varying ages. I really enjoyed seeing how all the kids in this book worked together to survive. I was really impressed at the ability of the author to make each character seem like their own person, with their own traits and different personalities! I loved it! The whole concept of this book was really interesting, a whole bunch of kids trapped in a grocery store who can’t exactly leave since the air outside is toxic? Yes, please! Another thing that I’d like to mention about this trilogy is that it is pretty unique, which is hard to find in the dystopian genre these days. These books are pretty short, which was great since at the time I was in a major slump. I think that anyone looking for a unique, post-apocalyptic dystopian read would love this! Something to keep in mind before reading this book is that it each book deals with injuries/fighting in a pretty descriptive way, and some scenes can be a bit gory. It was okay for me (and usually things like that would bother me) but if you’re someone who can’t handle descriptions of blood/injuries, maybe this book isn’t for you.

So those were two of my favourite dystopian that I recommend to anyone! If you’re trying to get into the young adult dystopian genre, try giving these trilogies a read!

Disclaimers: All descriptions/blurbs about the books were taken from Goodreads. All opinions are my own. All photos in this post were taken by myself, please don’t use them without permission/giving credit to me.

If you have any requests for posts that you would like to see from me, leave a comment!

 

 

Leave a Reply

